What do different lens categories mean?

If you’re confused about what different sunglass lens categories mean here is a simple guide: the category number equates to a percentage of the VLT (Visible Light Transmission) that is, how much light the lens lets through. The higher the VLT the lighter the lens, and conversely the lower the VLT the darker the  lens tint will be, blocking more light coming through to the eye. The majority of sunglass/eyewear lenses fall within one of five lens categories:

Category 0: 80-100% VLT

Category 1: 43-80% VLT

Category 2: 18-43% VLT

Category 3: 8-18% VLT

Category 4: 3-8% VLT

The lens category VLT can cover quite a wide spectrum such as Category 1 which is 43-80%. Some lens colours are right on the “border” e.g. a yellow lens can have 78% VLT which is on the border between Category 0 and Category 1. The following is a general guide to the categories that apply to different lens colours:

Category 0 – Clear, Light Yellow, Yellow, Pale Orange

e.g. Guard Clear – Category 0

Category 1 – Orange, Rose & Vermilion

e.g. Matrix Orange – Category 1

Category 2 – Purple, Red, Amber & Light brown

e.g. Edge Purple – Category 2

Category 3 – ‘Standard’ Grey & Brown

e.g. Slide Grey – Category 3

Category 4 – Dark Grey & Dark Brown

Evolution Mountain Category 4
e.g. Mountain – Category 4

All Evolution grey and brown lens models are Category 3 sunglasses and suitable for use in strong sun conditions. Shop Evolution leisure sunglasses.